Lemonade by the Gallon

Shock and Awe

9 Comments

The Shock

Noah died today.

I can hardly believe I’ve typed that. He was fine last night, and then, this morning, he was not fine at all.

The vet said that she saw a mass on his spleen and that the mass had ruptured. His abdominal cavity was full of fluid which was presumed to be blood, based on his symptoms. She said that it has been her experience that that is cancer and the prognosis is grim. For a pretty penny, we could’ve had her open him up and have a look, but the single digit percentage of patients who had benign tumors was not a good enough indication for it, in my opinion. Even if we had the money to put him through all that, the life expectancy with that kind of cancer is mere months after the surgery.

He went peacefully while I stroked the soft fur of his head and neck.

The Awe

I am amazed at how God looked out for Noah. The tumor could’ve ruptured in the middle of a busy week and we might not have noticed for a whole day. As it was, we noticed first thing in the morning and got on it. This could’ve happened when we were flat broke a couple of weeks ago. Things have been really tight, but I happened to have enough to give me the confidence that the vet wouldn’t turn us away, which seems to be standard practice at the clinic where I took him.

Noah was the second of two great dogs after a really trying dog experience. Let’s just say that beagles need room to run and bark and play and run and bark. Noah and Rocky were both very obviously gifts from God. We couldn’t have been better matched.

I am thankful to God for giving us nearly 8 years with Noah and for not allowing him to suffer a lot before he died.

I love you, Noah. Rest in piece, faithful friend.

Noah and his boys

Noah Nicklebee*

June 2, 1999 – May 26, 2008

9 thoughts on “Shock and Awe

  1. I’m so sorry! {{{{Nicklebees}}}}

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss of such a wonderful member of your family. Excuse me…now I have to find a tissue.

  3. (((Esther)))

  4. I’m so sorry, Esther! That’s a great loss to your family… I know he did so much to restore your faith in dogs.

  5. God was looking out for you, as well as Noah, in the timing of Noah’s death. Hard as it was, it was a blessing for you to be able to spend time with him, and live the event with attention.

    One of the reasons I acquired Shibas and a miniature poodle was that small dogs tend to live longer. But here we are 15 years later, and they’re getting old, and I know I’m going to lose one of them in the next year or so. So however long or short your time with them–it’s hard whan you lose them. My heart goes out to you. Think I’ll go hug my poodle now. . .

  6. Thanks so much for your words of comfort and support, everyone. I am feeling comforted! Today it feels like years since he was last here. All that we have left of him is some loose hair we missed with the vacuum, his collar with license dangling from it, and a few (thousand) pictures.

    Heidi (the dog) isn’t frantically looking for him, Gabe isn’t on the brink of tears anymore, and the heaviness on my heart isn’t nearly what it was Monday. I thought I would die that day. Today is different, though. Monday, we were all just plain sad, but today I am more thankful than sad, and I’m ready to move on, comforted by the fact that Noah was only a temporary gift from God, and that there might be another dog out there somewhere that needs our family to give it the love and care that enriched Noah’s life, but which he no longer requires.

    Thanks again, friends!

  7. I’m so, so sorry. That’s very sad and I do understand how awful it is when you lose a pet. He came across as a lovely dog, full of character and a real part of the family. The good thing is that at least it was very fast, fine one day, not fine the next is definitely the way for anyone to go.

    Bless you, I’m thinking of you.

    BC

  8. Oh, Mrs. Nickelbee, you are choking me up. I am so sorry about Noah’s passing but grateful that he didn’t suffer. God is faithful even to our doggies.

Leave a Reply

