Lemonade by the Gallon

Gluten free biscuits that actually taste good

Leave a comment

I found a recipe for the BEST GF biscuits I have ever had!  I have made GF biscuits on several occasions, and they often leave a lot to be desired, whether they’re bitter because of the type of flour, flat because of the combo of flours, or are just plain off.   These actually tasted the way I remember KFC biscuits.  They’re a little on the flat side, but I look forward to making them again for making Biscuits and Gravy.  I haven’t had Biscuits and Gravy in a long time.  I might even make that for brunch this week.  Oh, the possibilities!

But enough about me.  This is the recipe I adapted for use with the ingredients I had on hand, and this is my adaptation:

Biscuits free of Gluten, Dairy, Eggs, and Soy

1 C. Millet Flour (This is the first time I’ve used millet flour, which is neither here nor there.)
1/2 C. Sweet Rice Flour
2 C. Corn Starch
1/2 C. Sorghum Flour
2 tsp. GF Baking Powder
2 tsp. Salt
1 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
2 tsp. Xanthan Gum
1/2 C. Spectrum Organic Shortening (next time, I’ll try Earth Balance Soy Free Buttery Spread, which is yummy in place of butter)
1 1/4 C. Thai Kitchen Coconut Milk (regular)
1 1/4 C. Water
1 Tbsp. Vinegar (oops! I just realized I forgot to add the vinegar!)
Ener-G Egg Replacer and water for 1 egg, prepped according to instructions on the box

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a large mixing bowl, thoroughly combine the flours, baking powder, salt, baking soda, and xanthan gum.
3. Cut chilled shortening into flour mixture until the mix is basically smaller than pea sized chunks.
4. Add the coconut milk, water, vinegar (oops!), and egg replacer mixture.
5. Using a large spoon (I used a 1/4 C. measuring cup), drop the dough onto a greased pan to make about 16 biscuits.
6. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

* We baked ours for 20 – 25 minutes and they were still a tiny bit doughy, but mostly baked, which is more than I can say for most other recipes I’ve tried.

* I’ve read in the comments for the original recipe that the usual baking temp for biscuits is 450*. That might be part of it, but be careful about baking at a higher temp when omitting eggs as that can burn the outside and simply make the inside really warm though unbaked.

Thanks to the Gluten Free Cooking School for a very good recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

