Lemonade by the Gallon

Other than intended uses for Cherrybrook Kitchen g.f. yellow cake mix?

Leave a comment

If you have ever used a gluten free cake mix for anything other than cake or cupcakes, what did you do and how did it turn out?  There are recipes for making cookies with cake mix.  Why not build on the pretty great Cherrybrook Kitchen gf yellow cake mix?

My food allergies and intolerances are various and inconvenient, so trying to reaction-proof an old favorite is kind of depressing. I have yet to find a pumpkin roll recipe that is free of gluten, dairy, soy, and eggs.  There are significant complications with trying to replace both gluten and eggs in the batter for the roll, so I think I’m just going to try to bake thin layers and stack them kind of like this from the Hershey’s website.

Until today, I had given up on the cream cheese based filling and was resigned to use my stand by frosting recipe, while fantastic as frosting, leaves a lot to be desired – in my mind – as pumpkin roll filling.  Thankfully, this afternoon I came across this Dairy and Soy Free Cream Cheese Substitute by Cassidy@Cooking Gluten (& Dairy) Free.  I think that with some adjustments, I can probably make that work!  Hooray!!  That gives me the motivation to try to create a good tasting alternative to the very good but very reaction provoking pumpkin roll I used to love.

If anyone has successfully made anything yummy using a gluten free/other stuff free mix, please tell me about it!

Leave a Reply

